Sacagawea

Happy Easter world! I hope everyone had a great Easter. I hope everyone ate lots of Easter eggs and chocolate bunnies. I love chocolate. I love Easter. I can’t decide what I like more, little candy hearts on valentines day or chocolate bunnies on Easter day.

I am once again using a foreign key board to type this. I am sitting at my brother’s apartment trying to concentrate while my brother and his friends are watching a movie right behind me. They are watching 3:10 to Yuma. Great movie. Scroll down and you will see I even dedicated a blog title to it.

I had an interesting day. I went to church celebrated the resurrection of Jesus, then went home where mother had prepared a wonderful meal for me and my friends. After chowing down, watching my news clips, listening to dad talk in an outside voice while indoors (when dad gets excited or in large groups he tends to talk really loud), and just sitting around enjoying each others company we headed out to my uncle’s farm. There we shot a lot of guns. Most of you probably would not think I had ever even shot a gun before. Needless to say, I am a sharp shooter.

guns-and-team.jpg

On a more serious note a great man passed today. His name was Cecil Tidwell. He went to my home church and as long as I can remember every time February 15th (my birthday) would roll around he would shake my hand, and in doing so pass a Sacagawea gold dollar from his hand to mine. Even when it was not my birthday he would always shake my hand and ask me how baseball and school were going. Apparently he had a heart attack soon after church was over. It must have been right after we had left.

Seeing as how it was Easter the sermon was all about how we as Christians have conquered death through the resurrection of Christ. I wonder what Cecil was thinking as he heard James talking about these things. He had no idea that death would soon be calling him. That in about twenty minutes he was going to be leaving this world forever and be experiencing a new life in Heaven. About ten minutes before Cecil had his heart attack we sang a song which contained this line over and over again “are you ready, are you ready, are you ready for the judgment day.” I can rest peacefully tonight knowing that Cecil was ready. I bet Jesus was there to greet him with a hand shake and a gold dollar. Just like he was always there to greet us with.

Death has lost its victory

Death has lost its sting

From the grace we’ve risen

Victoriously!

1 Corinthians 15:55

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

