Tennessee Tornado

Right now I am sitting upright, in my slightly to short for my long body dorm room bed, awaiting the clock to strike four. Once it does I will head off to Shelby Park where I will have my first collegiate start. A blog is a place for honesty so I will be honest. I am not even really sure the name of the college we are playing. Maybe I should, I don’t know, like I said it’s my first time to start. I picked the white vest to throw in. All the great moments in my life have come while I have been wearing a vest.

April 16, 2008 should go down in history as one of the most beautiful days of all time.

On Monday night I put my insoles in my boat shoes and took my place in the mosh pit for the 2008 CMT awards. As my friend and I stood amid the lights, the stage, and Miley Cyrus (yes she was within ten feet from us!), we noticed a little man. He may have been Asian, I’m not really sure, but he was there walking around picking up the trash left behind by assorted stars and fans. I looked at this guy and said to my friend, “I wonder if he had to have credentials to get in here? Maybe we should have dressed up as janitors and gotten backstage.” My friend who you never know what may come out of his mouth said, “Ross he is worth just as much in God’s eyes as Miley, Billy Ray, or anyone else for that matter.”

This was not exactly where I was going with my credential statement but that is where it went. I amened my friend’s comment and then took the conversation elsewhere.

As the show went on I began to notice the huge attention these “stars” were getting. At one point I remember thinking, “Man what I would do to have their money and fame.”

Money and fame…. ha… what was I thinking. The devil had my mind. A person does not need money and fame. After I thought this I began to think I wonder which one of these famous, incredibly rich people have Jesus…

What if Jesus was sitting in the section with Carry Underwood, Keith and Nicole, Snoop Dogg, Brad Paisley, Kenny Chesney, etc… Would anybody even care?

Romans 12:2

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Tennessee Tornado

  1. Marcel

    Good message Ross. I enjoyed reading this post.

Leave a Reply

