Michael Jordan

It is twelve o’clock. I am still in bed. I got out once to fix pop tarts and coffee. I love my morning pop tarts and coffee more than almost anything.

I want to start a blog series on here. A blogoseries if you will. This is a first for me, but I think it could be really cool. For the next five posts, or so, I want to recognize different people who I believe God put in my life in order to make a difference in the way I live. I want to think a little below the surface with this one and consider possible positive influences in my life that maybe I have not really thought about before. This idea was inspired by a recent message I received from Donald Miller (author of Blue Like Jazz) on Twitter. Of course it had to do with flags (what in my life doesn’t have to do with flags?) but it got me really excited. So in honor of Donald Miller messaging me back, he is the first influence I will recognize in this blogoseries! Clap, clap, clap, applause applause applause.

I first read Blue Like Jazz over Christmas break my freshmen year of college. I had heard it was good, so when I saw it at one of my friend’s house I jumped on it. I read it from cover to cover in two days. Granted, I could not exactly soak in all it had to offer in such a short period of time, but it was at that time, that I began to get excited about Jesus. Just a few weeks before I had read Shaine Claiborne’s Irresistible Revolution. So I was pumped about helping the homeless but not necessarily about helping myself. I came back second semester fired up for J.C.

I have since read Blue Like Jazz a few times since then. But I believe, it is impossible to replace the feeling a good book is capable of dishing out after the first time you read it. Of course I recommend it to anyone who is interested.

Probably the closest contact I will ever have with Donald is that Twitter message he sent me. I am ok with that.

I want you to think about possible influences you are having on people you may never even know. Through someone telling a story about you, or whatever. Sure it is generic to say but I can’t think about it enough. Soooooo talk right, walk right, think right, be right.

-Coach Ross Hoss

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Michael Jordan

  1. Caitlin

    Aww…..Come meet Jewell and then blog about him too! Great blog, Ross!

  2. schmoffly

    Ross, I am flattered that you would want to do a blogoseries about me. Call me and we can talk about the good influence I have been in your life and how bad you would have turned out without a solid big borther figure in your life.

Leave a Reply

