Joelton

What are some of your most favorite places in the world? Let me tell you about one of mine… Back behind my house in Joelton there are woods followed by a pretty big hay field then more woods. If you were to walk through all three you would come out at a little pond nestled in the back of it all. Growing up this pond was known simply as the “Catfish Pond.” Once you walk out of the woods into the clearing you see one of the most beautiful places in the world. A big field goes on past one edge of the words and leads into some of those beautiful Tennessee rolling hills. The other sides of the pond are surrounded by woods. I haven’t been back there in years, but I plan on taking a trip out there possibly on Monday.

Lately I have been giving a lot of thought to all these beautiful places that exist around me. Maybe it is the old man in me, or maybe it is because I have been “stumbling upon” a lot of great photography lately on my computer, I’m not sure. But I am sure of this. We live in a beautiful world and if you allow yourself to look beyond the mess that is human kind you too will see it.

One of the arguments I will forever make for the existence of God is that I want to be a part of something beautiful. To believe in anything BUT that my life here matters, and that there is something greater waiting for me on the other side of my earthly death would basically cripple me of any chance of living a beautiful life and making the most of my time here. I want to join in on all of the beauty that surrounds me not the ugly stupid stuff. I encourage you to go out into nature and just stand there admiring how beautiful it is. Try to get away from sidewalks, roads, cars, and noise. Then just soak it all in. Put a man in nature and you are putting him into something beautiful..

Along with the beauty of nature exist the beauty of relationships. Can anyone argue that seeing an old man and woman celebrate their fiftieth wedding anniversary is not beautiful? Can you argue that a best friend being there for you through any hurdles life throws at you is anything but beautiful?  Put a man into a loving, unconditional relationship with another and you are putting him into something beautiful. Put a man into the story of God and you are putting him into something beautiful.

It is 3:30 am. It is ridiculous I am still awake. I went fishing tonight and didn’t catch a darn thing. That was not beautiful.

Love,

Ross the Hoss

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

